Gifted and Talented

Gifted and Talented

If you are an ECBOCES district teacher and do not see a link to our member resources in the left hand column, please log in.

Gifted Education Services

ECBOCES is committed to providing our districts with support, resources, and professional development educators need to better serve their gifted student population. We have a Gifted Education Regional Consultant (GERC) who works closely with district gifted education coordinators to monitor and develop a program plan that specifies guidelines for gifted identification and programming options. Our GERC provides support to educators by offering a variety of professional development options, including classroom instructional modeling, that focus on using effective instructional strategies and programs to enhance rigor and challenge in the regular classroom. In addition, we organize annual regional events for gifted students throughout our region to provide opportunities for them to engage with their peers and engage in activities that have been specifically designed for students with their characteristics.

Click HERE for a detailed look at the EC BOCES Gifted Program.

 

East Central BOCES and Northeast BOCES have organized regional events for the past several years.  Each year, there are two or more elementary events and one secondary event.  Our Elementary events are located in Limon and Sterling and our secondary events move around each year to different resorts and camps.

 

Ultimate Scavenger Hunt

This event is for our 7-12th Grade Students.

Please click on the links below for information about previous years' events.

2009 In Search of the Future
2010 In Search of Excellence
2011 In Search of Direction
2012 In search of Creativity
2013 In Search of a Better World
2014 In Search of Balance

2015 In Search of the Future

2016 In Search of Excellence

2017 In Search of Direction

 

Find us on Facebook - this page is dedicated to our Scavenger Hunt Events!

 

Ultimate Celebration

This is our 3-6th Grade Event.

 

Please click on the links below for information about previous years' events.

2011 Discovery
2012 Character
2013 Surge
2014 Creativity

2015 Discovery

2016 Character

 

 

 

 Each district in the ECBOCES Administrative Unit has a Gifted and Talented Coordinator who monitors the gifted education program for the district. Please contact the GT Coordinator to learn more about the gifted and talented program at each school.

If you are a GT Coordinator, please click HERE for Resources.  You will need to be logged in to access them.

District

GT Coordinator(s)

Email

Agate

Kendra Ewing

ewing.kendra@agateschools.net

Arickaree

Don Myers

donm@arickaree.org

Arriba-Flagler

Pauli Ann Jones

pjones@af20.net

Bennett

Anna Redmon – Elementary

Corinne Hummel – Middle School

Jennifer Goodnight – High School

Rich Campbell - District

annar@bsd29j.com

corinneh@bsd29j.com

jgoodnight@hotmail.com

richc@bsd29j.com

Bethune

Shila Adolf

sadolf@bethuneschool.com

Burlington

Rylana Woller - Elementary

Michael Steach – Middle School

Delsi Steach – High School

rwoller@burlingtonk12.org

msteach@burlingtonk12.org

dsteach@burlingtonk12.org

Byers

 

Gloria Mitchell - Elementary

Dana Clay – Middle/High School

April Nelson – Online Academies

mitchell.gloria@byers.k12.co.us

clay.dana@byers.k12.co.us

april.nelson@foundationlearning.org

Cheyenne Wells

Connie Osborn - District

connie.osborn@cheyennesd.net

Deer Trail

Carey Carson

ccarson@dt26j.org

Genoa-Hugo

Marguerite Yowell

myowell@genoahugo.org

Hi Plains

Dorothy Leoffler

dorothyleoffler@yahoo.com

Idalia

Cindy Soehner

cindysoehner@gmail.com

Karval

Cindy Leonard

cindy.leonard@ksdre23.org

Kiowa

Maryrobin Wills 

mwills@kiowaschool.org

Kit Carson

Natalie Framel

nframel@rebeltec.net

Liberty

Jane Bellows

bellowsj@libertyschoolj4.com

Limon

Stacy Larson

larsons@limonbadgers.com

Strasburg

Jami Hopwood - Elementary

Heidi Inglsbee – Middle School

Jeff Rasp - District

jhopwood@strasburg31j.com

hinglsbee@strasburg31j.com

jrasp@strasburg31j.com

Stratton

Sonia Huppert

shuppert@strattonschools.org

Woodlin

Deb Atwater

atwaterd@woodlinschool.com

EC BOCES Professional Development

Colorado Department of Education Professional Development Website can be found HERE.

 

Topic/Category Event; Regional or Statewide Workshop Suggested Audience Dates Location Website
Gifted Education State Directors Meetings Gifted Education Coordinators September 12-14, 2016 Breckenridge, CO contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org
Gifted Education Addressing the Needs of Gifted Learners Online Modules Gifted Education Coordinators, Teachers 2016-2017 online

http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt/2016-2017onlinemoduleschedule

Gifted Education Regional Network Meeting Gifted Education Coordinators September 28, 2016 East Central BOCES, Limon, CO

www.ecboces.org

or contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org

Gifted Education CAGT Gifted Education Coordinators, Teachers, Parents October 10-11, 2016 Loveland, CO http://www.cvent.com/events/conference-2016/event-summary-490d785dad784f5bbf911a52d79ae2f8.aspx
Gifted Education NAGC Gifted Education Coordinators November 3-6, 2016 Walt Disney World Resort, FL

https://www.nagc.org/professional-learning/nagc-63rd-annual-convention

Gifted Education Regional Network Meeting Gifted Education Coordinators December 8, 2016 East Central BOCES, Limon, CO

www.ecboces.org

or contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org

Gifted Education Gifted Education Tuesdays Gifted Education Coordinators

October 4, 2016, December 6, 2016 February 7, 2017

April 4, 2017

online

http://www.cde.state.co.us/gt/get-0

Gifted Education IDGE Gifted Education Coordinators February 2017 University of Denver

http://www.du.edu/idge/

Gifted Education Beyond Giftedness Gifted Education Coordinators, Teachers, Parents February 2017 Arvada, CO

www.ourgifted.com

Gifted Education State Directors Meetings

Gifted Education Coordinators

March 1-3, 2017 TBD contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org
Gifted Education Regional Network Meeting Gifted Education Coordinators April 5, 2017 East Central BOCES, Limon, CO

www.ecboces.org

or contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org

Gifted Education Depth & Complexity Level II Gifted Education Coordinators, Teachers Summer 2017 East Central BOCES, Limon, CO

www.ecboces.org

or contact Jodi Church at jodic@ecboces.org

Networking Meetings

 

 

Each year, the ECBOCES GERC facilitates at least three full day professional development opportunities for district GT Coordinators.

GT Network Meetings allow GT coordinators to have an opportunity to:

·      Network/share ideas with other coordinators

·      Learn about the latest resources and instructional strategies to support gifted students

·      Be informed about state initiatives and changes made to gifted program elements

·      Analyze gifted student achievement and collaboratively set goals/action plans for improvement

·      Participate in the planning and organization of gifted student regional events

·      Improve tools used for identification processes and programming options

The Gifted and Talented Networking Sessions are all listed on the ECBOCES Events Calendar

Location: ECBOCES West Room in Limon, CO

Registration: Please register by clicking on the appropriate date above.

 

Snacks and Lunch are always provided and guests are always welcome to come learn about GT topics!

 

All networking resources can be found HERE.

It takes a village…parenting a gifted child is not always easy.  The Parent’s Page link below offers tools and resources to help gifted children and their families thrive and succeed.  Resources  include links to state and national organizations,  book lists for parents and children, information about general GT topics, state and national competitions, and social emotional issues. 

Please click HERE for parent resources.

For an overview of the ECBOCES Gifted Program, click HERE.